ONVIF Hosts 2016 Annual Member Webinar

SAN RAMON, CALIFORNIA.November 4, 2016. ONVIF®, the leading global standardization initiative for IP-based physical security products, hosted its annual membership meeting on October 25, updating members on ONVIF’s accomplishments of 2016 and its outlook for the year ahead. ONVIF member companies heard presentations on the final release of Profile Q in 2016 and the ongoing development of Profile T for video, in addition to learning about the growing prevalence of ONVIF’s more than 7,000 conformant models of products in bid and specification processes in projects around the world.

In the webinar’s opening remarks, ONVIF Steering Committee Chairman Per Björkdahl highlighted ONVIF’s collective achievements over the past 12 months, including the organization’s continued work with the International Electrotechnical Commission on its IEC 62676-2-3 standard for network video clients and video transmitter devices. Björkdahl also cited the formation of the ONVIF Use Case Working Group as a significant step in increasing opportunities for member input.

Björkdahl announced the recipients of the 2016 ONVIF Award, which recognizes individuals and companies who have made significant contributions to the industry and to ONVIF. The 2016 ONVIF Award winners are: Sriram Bhetanabottla of Canon, Robert Haraldsson of Axis Communications and Hiroyuki Sano of Sony.

“Sriram, Robert and Hiroyuki have made significant contributions to the development of our Device Test Tool, Device Test Specification and Profile Q, our newest profile for improved out-of-the-box functionality,” Björkdahl said. “As a member-driven organization, it’s important to recognize members who contribute many hours of service to the work of ONVIF.”

Hans Busch of Bosch, Chairman of the ONVIF Technical Committee, spoke to members about the specification development roadmap and its alignment to the standardization activities within the IEC TC 79 working groups for video surveillance and physical access control standards. Technical Services Committee Chair Andreas Schneider of Sony gave an overview of the committee’s work on profiles, test tools, the conformance process and Developers’ Plugfests, and also provided additional information on the development of future Profiles. ONVIF Communications Chair Jonathan Lewit of Pelco by Schneider Electric followed the TSC with a recap of ONVIF’s internal and external communications in 2016.

The results of ONVIF’s annual elections for committees were announced by Stan Moyer, ONVIF’s Executive Director. Re-elected to the ONVIF Steering Committee were Mayur Salgar of Honeywell and Stuart Rawling of Pelco by Schneider Electric. For the Technical Committee, Honeywell’s Ramesh Subbaiah, Pelco by Schneider Electric’s Steve Wolf and Panasonic’s Hasan Ozdemir were re-elected, while Hanwha Techwin’s Sungbong Cho joined the committee as a new member. Bob Dolan of Anixter and Andrew Downs of Pelco by Schneider Electric were re-elected to the Technical Services Committee, joined by new committee member Giri Guntipalli of Honeywell. Tim Shen of Dahua was named to ONVIF’s Communication Committee as a new member, while Mike Mao of Honeywell and Jonathan Lewit of Pelco by Schneider Electric were re-elected to the committee.

Founded in 2008, ONVIF now consists of nearly 500 member companies in six continents and more than 7,000 Profile conformant products. With Profile S for streaming video; Profile G for recording and storage; Profile C for physical access control; Profile Q for improved out-of-the-box functionality and the Release Candidate Profile A for access control configuration, ONVIF continues to work with its members to expand the number of IP interoperability solutions ONVIF conformant products can provide.

Further information about ONVIF’s conformant products, including the vendors and the conformant models, is available on ONVIF’s website: www.onvif.org.


For press inquiries, please contact:

Andrea Gural

Eclipse Media Group on behalf of ONVIF

Phone: +

E-mail: agural@eclipsemediagroup.net

Stan Moyer, ONVIF Executive Director

2400 Camino Ramon, Suite 375

San Ramon, CA 94583, USA

Phone: +1.928.395.6773, E-mail: info@onvif.org



ONVIF® is a global and open industry forum that is committed to standardizing communication between IP-based physical security products to ensure their interoperability and to facilitate their integration. ONVIF was established in 2008 to develop a global open standard for IP-based physical security products. Membership is open to manufacturers, software developers, consultants, system integrators, end-users and other interest groups that wish to participate in the activities of ONVIF.